Unfamiliar Passage

by: Scott Mitchell

Love

with 33 comments

It’s been a while since I posted on this blog. I don’t like starting something and allowing myself to lose interest in it and walk away, but I think most bloggers understand that life just gets busy sometimes. I don’t have any other blog where I just write random things and I reserve the Evoking blog for poetry only. I absolutely love writing and often think of things while driving or relaxing on the weekends, so I have to make better use of this blog and start it up again. Thanks to everyone for following. Love you all.

Yesterday I wrote a poem and posted it on the Evoking Facebook page after reading two blogs in the morning that inspired it. One was Debbie Adams poem which I was thrilled to read, because a poem was a rare posting for her. It was mostly about love: http://adamsart.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/look-deep/ The other one was from Boomibol and about some very serious political troubles in Africa: http://boomiebol.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/need-we/ therefore giving me the thought of wars and pains of people under corrupt governments, etc. Hence, I suddenly had the “Love is a Decision” poem just sprout out of my soul into words. This world is filled with happiness and pain and me seeing the pains of others just burns my heart. Thousands of years of philosophy has preached to always be content and on the middle path in how we think and in our expectations, but people have to fight back sometimes against tyrants of iniquity just so they can have the basic freedoms all humans deserve. Here in the USA we feel disappointed often for not having some things we want, but imagine not even having your basic freedom. Imagine knowing that someone could come to your home and kick down your door and kill your family and nobody would care. What reason would there be to wake each morning in such conditions? Even when a war is required, it could be for love. Love for family and following generations. Hope for a future. Hope that someone will at least care about such evil taking place. What can we do? I don’t know, but I’m starting to think about it.

That’s all I have to say today, but I’ll close with the poem:

Love is a Decision

Love can start wars
and kill hearts
It can induce sickness
and create depressing arts

Love can blind
to all that matters
It can cut like a sword
Love shatters

Love can separate
what should be together
It can roar with pain
in storm cursed weather

Love can leave you standing
shaking fists toward heaven
It can make you starve
Love threatens

Love is precious and a decision
be wise before handling such a gem

Love can end wars
and mend hearts
It can cure disease
and create intoxicating art

Love can make eyes shine
staring into a soul
It can heal your wounds
love glows

Love can bring together
for sharing blue skies again
It can shout with victory
and end the rain

Love can make you kneel
giving thanks as you sing
It’s more precious than gold
Wearing love as a ring

Scott Mitchell
26 April 2012

Written by Scott Mitchell

April 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what a lovely Poem Scott Love is every thing we need and every thing needed to live in this world….. loved it🙂
    I read Debbie’s what a beauty she painted with words….
    Will go through the other link, am sure it will be equally delightful🙂

    Soma Mukherjee

    April 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    • Thank you so much Soma. Yes, I always loved Debbie’s art and now she’s writing poetry. A good combination in my opinion🙂 And yes, Boomibol is an excellent writer as well.

      Scott Mitchell

      April 27, 2012 at 12:36 pm

  2. Wonderful! I love how you respond to each of the beginning stanzas with the final ones. Excellent!

    linneann

    April 27, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    • Thank you Linneann! I think I succeeded in making the reader think I’m condemning love and then surprising them that I actually think it’s a decision how we can love. Well, I was trying to say many things actually.

      Scott Mitchell

      April 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      • What I got from it was that love doesn’t always feel good. Like when a parent has to discipline or reprimand a child for his own well-being; or giving your life for another. It’s not always a warm and wonderful thing. Not always an easy “decision,” and I do like that you use that word.

        linneann

        April 27, 2012 at 12:49 pm

  3. Wow Scott, you never cease to amaze me. Such beautifully crafted words knitted together. I’m in awe yet again. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here about love. Love is awesome when felt and shared.

    Stay blessed my friend.
    Sherline😀

    nightshade130

    April 27, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    • Aww, thanks Sherline! I feel so blessed by your comment here and any time you comment. Hope you are well and God bless you

      Scott Mitchell

      April 27, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  4. beautiful interpretation of the many forms of love. insightful writing as usual.

    suzanne schrader

    April 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  5. Well expressed!!! A friend once said “Love can be strecthed” It’s up to us though where we choose to spread love and it’s very effective power. Thanks for sharing your heart, it’s beautiful.

    boomiebol

    April 27, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    • Thanks much, Boomiebol! It’s true what you say and I also like the quote about a million candles being lit from only one candle (something like that)🙂

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 9:55 am

  6. I was thinking,why I haven’t gotten any notification on this? *looked at the browser* Oops, it’s not evokingthedeep.. That is why.

    Well, I’m gonna follow this one too. I love your poem. I was writing my 30 Day Challenge (Day 28) and the question is about Socially Unacceptable act that I would do if I’m not being judge. My answer would be ‘Power’ I mean, coup d’etat .. Which of course, unacceptable.

    bluefiadiarries

    April 27, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    • Thanks for following me here as well and I appreciate the comment. I’ll head over to your blog and read more about this🙂

      Scott Mitchell

      April 27, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      • I haven’t posted it yet. Anyways, reading this blog of yours I feel like I know part of you. It sounded that you are more open here than on the other blog.

        Nonetheless,I really wish you all the best in your life.🙂

        bluefiadiarries

        April 27, 2012 at 2:45 pm

  7. Beautiful, Scott. This poem has everything.

    Polly Robinson

    April 27, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    • Thank you Polly. Well, it was quite a day of deep thinking that day. Like absorbing so much around me far and wide. Like a moment of clarity. I wish I could always live in a moment of clarity…🙂

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 9:57 am

  8. Love is a choice. When a child is born, we choose to either love it, or not love it. As it is so when we deal with others. We can can choose to love them even if we don’t agree with all the things they say or do.
    I love this poem you wrote..I love love and all that it stands for!
    Thanks you so much for the kind words you said about me and the link.

    Love and Hugs to you, my friend! xo

    Deb

    April 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    • Very true Debbie and it’s my pleasure mentioning you there. I commented on your poem that you inspired me and I try to always give credit🙂
      Much love and hugs back to you too!

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 9:58 am

  9. You’re right, most of the time we get so caught up with ourselves, we forget to look around us and feel grateful or even have compassion for others… Awesome post; so touching.

    shianwrites

    April 27, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    • Thank you, beautiful author Shian. I’m so thankful for those around me I’ve been able to turn to even with something as simple as a question or to ask advice. I’m truly blessed my friend

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 10:01 am

  10. Scott, this is a wonderful post, not only your beautiful poem about love, but your thoughts, as well. It is so easy to whine about the most trivial “things” we don’t have or do want and you touched on it precisely when you mentioned not even having our basic freedom. Very powerful words and message! Love is definitely a decision…sometimes, it feels wonderful and sometimes, it hurts. As you know, I’ll always believe in it, regardless…
    Deb is one of my favorites and I’ll check out the other blog, too. Keep sharing your thoughts; you are missed! xx

    lscotthoughts

    April 27, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    • Thank you so much Lauren. Yes, we do get caught up in trivial things sometimes. It seems to be the human nature to have desire for more always. Much philosophy states “desire equals suffering” and it’s true in the sense said and also that it sometimes causes others to be trampled on by those powerful enough to do so. I guess I add to my list of why travelling can be so valuable and rewarding is to see other places of the world. (but outside of the fenced resorts)

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 10:08 am

      • “By those powerful to do so and outside of the fenced resorts” are your key phrases, Scott. I’m not an extensive traveler as you are, so I really enjoy reading about your experiences. Don’t you wish we could simply save everyone from strife and suffering? Everyone could have the chance to live a good and happy life, not focusing on materialism, but love, friendship and dreams coming true, if only…(well, onto a few more online tasks, then work!) Have a great day! Smiles and Hugs!

        lscotthoughts

        May 2, 2012 at 10:29 am

  11. Your words will always be your life blood! You are always happiest when you write, and we that adore you are happy when you do! No bump on the log type stuff my friend, become energized…you are always inspiring! Love the poem my friend!

    • Thanks Wendell! True that I’m happy when I write. The moments I write of are my therapy as well as the moments I write of them🙂

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 10:21 am

  12. Beautiful Scott, as always! Love does conquer all!

    Madhu

    April 30, 2012 at 3:37 am

    • Thank you Madhu! It really does conquer all especially when it replaces thoughts of anything else

      Scott Mitchell

      May 2, 2012 at 10:22 am

  13. Scott! This is so beautiful!

    nenskei

    May 1, 2012 at 11:29 am

  14. Two dimensions of love beautifully captured in simple words🙂

    aroomazainab

    May 4, 2012 at 8:24 am

    • That was exactly my intention and I’m glad it came through. Thanks for your visit and comment Aroomazainab!

      Scott Mitchell

      May 5, 2012 at 8:18 am


Leave a Reply

